The Secret Art of Meditation

The secret art of meditation is no longer a secret and it is wonderful!
I know it is a widespread belief that only those who identify as ‘spiritual’ can practise meditation, but this is a bunch of nonsense that is created by those who enjoy scaremongering. Meditation is not invented by spiritual gurus and fallen into by those who fall for the ‘spiritual’ mythology. You do not have to have any definitive spiritual beliefs, and neither do you have to be blessed with a hidden talent to tap into ‘spirituality.’
The truth is that anyone can practise meditation.
Absolutely anyone!
I have suffered from severe depression and anxiety for at least eight years which has made me feel less than human. In fact, I have felt so low that I have felt as small as a tiny speck of dust that remains in a corner after a cleaner has dusted multiple times. I could not escape from being the imaginary dust particle that was stuck in a corner because I had a lack of love and appreciation for myself. I did not think that I deserved anything more…
…I did not think that I deserved internal peace and love.
Ever since I started meditating, I discovered that the value of life is in appreciating yourself. You need to learn to accept yourself with everything that you are. You need to learn to appreciate your inner self and all that it holds in terms of memories, regrets, wishes, and dreams. I firmly believe that the world would be a better place if everyone developed the art of appreciating themselves along with all their flaws and inescapable emotions.
You can do this by practising meditation because it teaches you to be with yourself and focus on yourself. Only then can you fully understand the intricate complexity of the being that is yourself. Only then can you discover your deepest wants and needs.
Are you feeling lost?
Well, meditation can help you figure out what it is that you deeply and truly want and need to be doing…
…because your inner-self knows.
How to meditate
1. Find a quiet space and a comfortable position.
2. Set up a timer.
3. Close your eyes and focus on your breathing.
4. Focus on your breaths and try to make sure that they are steady and even.
5. If your mind wanders, bring it back to your core and focus on the present moment.
6. Let go of all thoughts and images. Just let them float away.
7. Forget about time and let all your worries float away.
8. At the end of the meditation at the end of the timer, open your eyes and take in your surroundings before you carry on with your day.
As you can see…
…the process of meditation is simple, and you do not have to be a spiritual expert to practise it.
Do you want to learn distinct types of meditation?
Or diverse ways to connect with your inner self?
If this is the case,…then I highly recommend ‘Insight timer’ which is a free app in the app store on your phone. It has not only a timer for your own meditations, but also 100s of 1000s of guided meditations which can teach you distinct types of meditation, such as yoga nidra, loving kindness, chakra cleansing, visualisation, and mindfulness.
As I said at the beginning, the secret art of meditation is no longer a secret and it is wonderful.

Leave a comment